#1 I love it! Who did it? — MARIO TESTINO

Kate Moss photographed by Mario Testino

The first time I remember seeing the work of Mario Testino was in 1992. There was this exhibition called “Portraits – Mario Testino” at the National Portrait Gallery in London which is, until now, the most successful exhibition in the history of the Gallery, and I happened to be there.

The photos were huge and each one more fascinating than the one before and all of them completely different. I was 16, he was 48. I fell in love.

For many years the postcard I had brought from the exhibition accompanied me, decorating the walls of my bedrooms in the cities I lived in. Last time I moved, because this time I wanted it to be a “real” home, the kind where you don’t hang postcards on the walls, I decided to store it in one of those card-boxes where you keep everything you don’t want to throw away, but I’ve never forgotten the image: a close-up of Kate Moss’s face with an almost tribal painting over a blue background. Here it is.

Somewhere before or after the exhibition I discovered that Mario Testino had been in Portugal, invited by my uncle, and photographed my grandmother and my great grandfather at their holiday villa. Unfortunately, i can’t recall any of this. They say I was already born and probably somewhere around the place. Had I been smarter, I would have hold on to Mr. Testino’s legs and used all of my child persuasion powers to ask if I could work with him when I grew up! Clearly, I wasn’t smart enough.

A primeira memória que tenho de Mario Testino é a de uma exposição que vi em 1992 na National Portrait Gallery, em Londres. Chamava-se “Portraits – Mario Testino” e é ainda hoje (descobri agora) a exposição mais bem sucedida de sempre da Galeria.

As ampliações eram enormes e cada foto era mais fascinante que a anterior e todas diferentes. Eu tinha 16 anos, ele 48. Apaixonei-me.

Durante vários anos o postal que trouxe da exposição acompanhou-me, decorando as paredes dos vários quartos das várias cidades onde morei. Na última mudança, e porque desta vez era uma casa “a sério” onde já não queria colar postais nas paredes, guardei-o numa daquelas caixas onde guardamos o que não queremos deitar fora, mas nunca esqueci a imagem: um close-up da cara da Kate Moss com uma pintura quase tribal sobre um fundo azul claro. Ei-la.

Não sei bem se nessa altura se mais tarde, descobri que o Mario Testino tinha estado em Portugal, convidado pelo meu tio, onde fotografara a minha avó e o meu bisavô, na sua casa de férias. Infelizmente, eu não me lembro de nada. Consta que já era nascida e devia andar por ali. Tivesse eu dois dedos de testa e ter-me-ia agarrado às pernas do Sr. Mario e pedido, usando todo o poder de persusão de uma criança, que me deixasse trabalhar com ele quando fosse grande. Mas não tinha. Claramente não tinha.

My grandmother being photographed by Mario Testino in Portugal

Mario Testino taking my grandmother's picture below, Portugal. / Mario Testino a fotografar a minha avó, Portugal.

My great grandfather and my grandmother photographed by Mario Testino in Portugal

My great grandfather and my grandmother by Mario Testino. / O meu bisavô e a minha avó por Mario Testino.

Today, at least, I’m big enough to do some research.

First step: checking the official website. Right there on the first line I learn he’s from Peru. Feeling completely stupid for admiring his work for so long not knowing where he was born I praise the decision of getting into this exploration. Next.

His work has been featured in so many magazines that it is simply pointless to list them here. Think of every big one and you’ll hardly miss. He’s photographed for a similar amount of fashion houses, published nine books, edited another one on Peruvian contemporary art and did a handful of exhibitions around the world.

Hoje, pelo menos, sou suficientemente crescida para procurar mais sobre ele.

Ora, primeiro passo: consultar o site oficial. Na primeira linha descubro que é Peruano. Sinto-me estúpida por me dizer admiradora de alguém cuja nacionalidade desconhecia e ao mesmo tempo dou graças por ter iniciado a exploração. Seguinte.

O seu trabalho apareceu numa lista tão grande de revistas que simplesmente não vale a pena enumerar. Pensem em todas as grandes e será difícil falharem. Fotografou para uma quantidade semelhante de casas de moda, publicou nove livros, editou um outro sobre arte contemporânea peruana e  fez um sem-número de exposições.

Natalie Portman photographed by Mario Testino for V November 2009

Natalie Portman for V Magazine, November 2009

Natalia Vodianova photographed by Mario Testino 1

Natalia Vodianova

A couple more clicks and there pops an article from The Telegraph, about this episode that makes me smile. It was 1997, while he photographed Madonna’s Ray of Light album cover.

‘At 2pm she said, “OK, I’m tired. We’re done.” And I said, “But I don’t have the pictures yet.” She said, “You’re working for me and I say we’re done.” I said, “No, we carry on.” The picture she used on the cover came after that.

It seems he’s got a refined sense of humor and that’s also the tone in his reply when the clinic in El Salvador is referred, one that was built with the profit of selling one of his pictures of Princess Diana: “But don’t get me wrong. I am no saint.”. Judging by your work, I bet you’re not, Mario.

Confess admirer of Helmut Newton‘s work (me too) Mario Testino also has a very peculiar way of capturing sensuality. I believe one must have a very special talent to be able to photograph naked bodies without being vulgar, and he does it exceptionally well.

Mais uns cliques e descubro um artigo no The Telegraph, com um episódio que me faz sorrir. Passa-se em 1997, quando fotografava a capa do ábum Ray of Light, de Madonna:

‘Às 2 da manhã ela diz, “OK, estou cansada. Terminámos.” E eu digo, “Mas eu ainda não tenho as fotos.” Ela diz, “Tu estás a trabalhar para mim e eu digo que terminámos.” e eu digo, “Não, vamos continuar.”
A foto que ela usou na capa do álbum veio depois disto.

O seu sentido de humor parece apurado e é dessa forma que responde quando se refere a clínica em El Salvador fundada com a venda de uma fotografia sua da Princesa Diana: “Mas não me interpretem mal. Não sou um santo.” A ver pelas suas fotos seguramente que não, Mario.

Admirador confesso de Helmut Newton (e eu também) Mario Testino tem também uma forma muito própria de captar a sensualidade. É um talento especial o de fotografar corpos nus sem transmitir vulgaridade e ele fá-lo excepcionalmente bem.

Kate Moss photographed by Mario Testino 1

Kate Moss

Kate Moss photographed by Mario Testino 3

Kate Moss

Gisele Bundchen photographed by Mario Testino
Gisele Bundchen
Natalia Vodianova photographed by Mario Testino 3

Natalia Vodianova

His pictures have an extraordinary natural feel, and he is recognized for it. It is almost as if everyone whom he portrays is a long time friend and complicity gives birth to that moment.

As suas fotografias são de uma naturalidade excepcional, e é reconhecido por isso. É como se os retratados fossem seus amigos de longa data e a cumplicidade desse aso àquele momento.

Lara Stone photographed by Mario Testino for Vogue US January 2011

Lara Stone for Vogue US, January 2011

Lady Gaga photographed by Mario Testino for Vogue US March 2011

Lady Gaga for Vogue US, March 2011

Today, Mario Testino is 58 years old, more than 30 taking pictures, and his work is far from looking outdated. Simply put, he’s one of the most requested photographers in the world (#3 according to the Styleite ranking) and by the looks of it he will be standing on that place for a long time.

Mario Testino tem hoje 58 anos, mais de 30 de carreira, e o seu trabalho está longe de se mostrar “datado”. É simplesmente um dos fotógrafos de moda mais requisitados do planeta (#3, segundo o ranking do Styleite) e, ao ritmo que continua a fotografar, tudo indica que o será por muito tempo.

4 thoughts on “#1 I love it! Who did it? — MARIO TESTINO

  1. Pingback: Paris is burning. « Eva Maria

Would love to know your thoughts, please comment. :)

